What is an IP rating?

                   IP stands for “Ingress Protection” and measures how well a device is protected from both solid objects and liquids.  An IP rating may look something like this:

  • IPX0: The product offers no special protection from water.

  • IPX1: Can resist water that drips vertically onto the product.

  • IPX2: Can resist water that hits the product at a 15° angle or less.

  • IPX3: Can take water sprays of up to 60°.

  • IPX4: Is resistant to water splashes from any direction.

  • IPX5: Can resist a sustained, low-pressure water jet spray.

  • IPX6: Can resist high-pressure, heavy sprays of water.

  • IPX6K: Can resist water jets of extremely high pressure. Rarely used.

  • IPX7: Can be submerged up to 1 meter in water for 30 minutes.

  • IPX8: Can be submerged deeper than 1 meter. The exact depth is specified by the manufacturer.

  • IPX9K: Resists high-pressure, high-temperature sprays at close range. A very special case that’s dictated by a separate standard. Rarely used.